Tell me another story, brother

Tell me another story, brother

For I am still too scared to sleep

Mother hasn’t come home yet

And the shadows have grown deep

Betwixt the twilight deafening,

I hear a distant step

I fear if silence lingers long

The devil will come in

Tell me another story, brother

For now the sound is near

Is it mother whose foot falls heavy

On the snowy eaves, I hear?

Betwixt my bedroom window

And the winter moon up high

I see a shadowed face appear

That blackens out the sky.

Tell me another story, brother

For that face is not our kin

And I hear it tapping on the glass

Asking to come in.

This poem is copyright © The Literary Kat. Any reproduction or performance of this poem in full or in part is strictly prohibited without the authors consent.

Leave a comment